Gandhi’s iPad. Steve’s take.

With the launch of the new iPad (not the iPad 3), I have been thinking a lot about Apple, and the media frenzy questioning whether Apple will continue as the creative and technology powerhouse of Silicon Valley.  Or will it, like so many tech companies before, fade into decay?

Really?  Honestly?   Apple, remind people of what Mark Twain said: “rumors of our demise are exaggerated.”

Of course, the passing of Steve Jobs overhangs all arguments, pontificating and discussions about Apple.   I give the man more credit that his legacy; the company he built has some legs.

The creative showman behind Apple was an exalted figure to the faithful (I count myself in that group).  Although I devoured Walter Issacson’s biography of Jobs – and now realize Jobs, too, had clay on his feet – there is part of me that likes to believe that somewhere, in another dimension, Steve is sitting cross-legged with Einstein, Martin Luther King, John Lennon, Bucky Fuller and the other crazy ones talking about his digital progeny, wondering if those other exalted figures would participate in the next product launch.

We all remember the lovely image sprayed across the Internet on the day Steve died, showing the Apple founder trying to help St. Peter at the pearly gates organize the book of the righteous.

In that spirit, following is a transcript from the other dimension: what I imagine Jobs would be saying to Gandhi, sitting cross-legged across the gateway to eternity.

Gandhi: “Steve, you must be the change you want to see in the world.”

Jobs:  “Mahatma, I agree.  That was called the Mac.  When we needed to change again, I gave the world the iPod.”

Gandhi: As human beings, our greatness lies not so much in being able to remake the world – that is the myth of the atomic age – as in being able to remake ourselves.

Jobs:  “I could not agree more.  MacBook Air.”

Gandhi:Nobody can hurt me without my permission.”

Jobs: “I never focus too much on security, but its a growing issues for my customers.  I think you should think about MobileIron.”

Gandhi: “The weak can never forgive.  Forgiveness is the the attribute of the strong.”

Jobs:  “I have an app for that: iFitness HD.  Of course, you might like PocketYoga.  I keep it on my iPhone, too.”

Gandhi: “An ounce of practice is worth more than tons of preaching.”

Jobs: “Have you tried  Piano♫  Works with iPad or iPhone. Addictive.”

Gandhi: “I do not want to foresee the future. I am concerned with taking care of the present. God has given me no control over the moment following.”

Jobs:  “I could not get by without Evernote”

Gandhi: “I claim to be a simple individual liable to err like any other fellow mortal. I own, however, that I have humility enough to confess my errors and to retrace my steps.”

Jobs:  “There was the Lisa.  Now I admit it was wrong, teacher.”

Gandhi: “First they ignore you, then they laugh at you, then they fight you, then you win.”

Jobs: “That is called the iPhone.  Ask Motorola.  It makes me giggle”

Gandhi: “Happiness is when what you think, what you say, and what you do are in harmony.”

Jobs:  “I always own the entire experience, the hardware, the software and the user experience.  No one else gets that  Mahatma, you are so right.   Woz is camped in front of the Apple store in Palo Alto.  He will get you the new iPad as soon as it’s available.”

Leave a Reply

